Starting today and every week, I’ll be doing a Throwback Thursday that will consist of going back in time and remembering some of the greatest college hockey teams, games, goals, etc.

Today’s TBT will focus on the 2008-09 Boston University season in which the Terriers went 35-6-4, saw senior defenseman Matt Gilroy take home the Hobey Baker award and culminated with a third national championship for legendary head coach Jack Parker.  The national title was one of a school-record seven championships the team won that season.

Let’s start with one of the more dramatic endings to a national title game in NCAA history. With BU trailing Miami University 3-1 in the third period and time winding down, the Terriers scored two extra-attacker goals in the final minute courtesy of Zach Cohen and Nick Bonino to erase a two-goal deficit and force overtime, going on to win it 11:47 into the extra frame thanks to a Colby Cohen slap shot that deflected off a RedHawk player and redirected into the back of the net.

My words don’t do it justice, so you can see the full highlights of the game here (comeback starts at the 6:20 mark):

That’s some Jack Parker magic right there, folks.

As for the rest of the championships the team won:

  • Ice Breaker Invitational (2-1 win over Michigan State)
  • The Denver Cup (4-1 victory over Denver)
  • The Beanpot (5-2 win vs. Northeastern)
  • Hockey East Regular Season champs
  • Hockey East Tournament (1-0 win over UMass Lowell)
  • NCAA Northeast Regional (2-1 victory vs. UNH)

Notable BU Players:

  • Matt Gilroy (Defenseman) – As mentioned above, won the HB award after recording 36 points in 43 games, the most of any defenseman in the conference and third most in the country. Most recently played for Team USA in the 2018 Winter Olympic Games in PyeongChang.
  • Colin Wilson (Forward, Colorado Avalanche) – Led the team in points (55) and assists (38). Joined Gilroy as one of three finalists for the Hobey Baker.
  • John McCarthy (Forward) – Another member of Team USA at the 2018 WOG, recorded 29 points and was one of seven BU skaters to play in all 45 games that season.
  • Nick Bonino (Forward, Nashville Predators) – Secured 50 points, second-most on the team behind Wilson. Scored the game-tying goal in the national title game versus Miami, and was named 2009 Beanpot MVP. Led all skaters in +/- with a +29 rating.
  • Kevin Shattenkirk (Defenseman, NY Rangers) – Recorded 28 points and a +28 rating, trailing only Bonino in the category. Named to the NCAA Second All-America Team.
  • Kieran Millan (Goalie) – Named the national Rookie of the Year as a freshman netminder, Millan went 28-2-3 between the pipes with a GAA of 1.94. Recorded the nations best win percentage (.894), and also received honors as Hockey East ROY and NCAA Frozen Four All-Tournament Team.
  • Eric Gryba (Defenseman, NJ Devils) – Featured in all 45 Terrier contests, was a key cog in the BU defense.

Personal Achievements:

  • Jack Parker – 800th win, NCAA Coach of the Year
  • Matt Gilroy – Hobey Baker winner
  • Colin Wilson – Hobey Baker finalist
  • Kieran Millan – National ROY
  • Gilroy/Wilson – AHCA First Team All-American
  • Kevin Shattenkirk – AHCA Second Team All-American

I think it’s safe to say this was one of the greatest BU teams in program history, loaded with a perfect combination of coaching, goaltending, and just pure overall talent. If there are any teams/games out there worth going back and revisiting, please feel free to comment any suggestions you may have!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: